The Swinging 60s

In the first semester of my third year of university I was given the opportunity to pick, for myself, a module that I was interested in. This might seem like no big deal to most students who constantly pick their modules. However, to me and my fellow students at DJCAD, it was the most exciting thing as never before had we been given this chance. We have always be given our modules by our tutors. So as I looked through the list of modules available to me with anticipation I glance at subjects such “languages” and my heart sinks. Subjects I have never been strong at or at all interested in. Then I spot “Print Making and Printability.” – Screen Printing, Lino, Lithography, Etching – “All areas that you will learn.” I apply as soon as I can send the application with the thought of furthering my small knowledge on print making.

Somehow my excitement furthers as starting the semester I learn that I can produce whatever theme of work I wish. As long as I produce a body of work with a final outcome. This again is something us DJCAD students are not too familiar with. We are constantly given briefs and have guidelines we need to stick to but with this I had the chance to produce the art I want to. So straight away I knew what my theme would be. The Swinging 60s. 

The 1960s, and honestly 70s and 80s, have always been a huge influence on my life. I am not sure exactly where it came from. If it was my mum playing Jackson 5 in the car, seeing her old “cool” teenage outfits in black and white photographs or just the need I had to escape from the “it” kids around me. I loved all things old and vintage. The smell, the look, the fact they knew the world before me, before I even existed.

So I got together my folio. Looking at Photographers like David Bailey. Models like Twiggy and Jean Shrimpton and music artists such as the Beatles. All the iconic faces to create a 60s vinyl cover with vinyls included. I worked extremely hard on it all. It was, to be honest with you, the most work I have ever put into any assignment. But it hardly seemed like work at all as I was doing what I am most passionate about. After it was all done and we celebrated with a Christmas Party, I felt full. Not just from the gin and mince pies that I do not even like but felt obligated to eat: but from the feeling that I had given my all. The feeling of being so satisfied that I finally got to produce work that I am passionate about. The cartoon light bulb above my head moment came to me. I want to produce vintage inspired art for the rest of my career.

So here is to the start of that passion with these 60s inspired screenprints I produced last winter. I hope they mark the start of more prints, artworks, 3D and fashion pieces alike. All inspired by a Little Peace of Vintage.

(If at all interested in any of these A3 sized Screenprints just contact me through the contact button at the top of the page.)

Leave a comment